8 days until the next Formula 1 season!

The 71st season of Formula One is literally 8 days away, finally!! Oh my gosh, if anyone could even measure my excitement right now, it’d be off the scale. As soon as the last season ended around November, I’ve been counting down for the new season to start because I’m so damn excitedddddd. SO, let’s talk about the new season and what new changes are taking place. One of main changes is that Nico Rosberg won’t be in this year’s season (what?? I hear you say?). Yup, that’s right, he won’t. This is the first time that he won’t be racing in Formula One since 1994 as after winning last year’s championship, he’s decided to retire from Formula One and focus on his family. As cute as that it is, it’s also good news for us Hamilton fans because now we can see what other rivalry can emerge between the drivers now that Rosberg has gone and Lewis Hamilton does not have his usual competitor to compete against for the world championship. This year, teams and drivers are scheduled to compete in twenty Grand Prix races, starting in Australia on 26 March (yass!) and ending in Abu Dhabi as usual on 26 November, for the World Drivers’ and World Constructors’ championships. Another main change to this year’s season, is the obvious one: teams and drivers. To make it simple, here’s the teams participating this year and their drivers:

Ferrari: Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen

Force- India Mercedes: Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon

Haas- Ferrari: Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen

McLaren-Honda: Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorme

Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton (my fave) and Valtteri Bottas

Red Bull: Daniel Riccardo and Max Verstappen

Renault: Nico Hulkenberg and Jolyon Palmer

Sauber- Ferrari: Pascal Wehrlein and Marcus Ericsson

Toro Rosso: Daniil Kvyat and Carlos Sainz Jr

Williams: Felippe Massa and Lance Stroll

Having looked at this year’s teams and their drivers adds to my excitement, to be quite honest. Some teams have stayed the same with their drivers such as Red Bull but many teams have shuffled round their drivers to have a new selection, or brought in new drivers such as Lance Stroll and Esteban Ocon to replace Jenson Button and Nico Rosberg from last year’s positions. This new mix is, without a doubt, exciting and going to be entertaining as there will be new rivalries emerging however somewhat daunting because the championship could be up for grabs for anyone and any team this year. For the first time after many years, the championship will be in the hands of any team instead of the usual Red Bull or Mercedes. In regards to the drivers, what’s also interesting is that Felipe Massa, who was meant to retire from Formula One at the end of the 2016 season extended his contract with Williams to replace his former teammate, Jenson Button. I actually find that quite hilarious because in the last race last year, he was crying and carrying around his home country’s flag (which is Brazil) around the circuit, and everyone gave him a warm farewell party. But then, boom. He arrived back like:


As for the race/qualifying events, here’s the calendar for the 2017 season:

Round Grand Prix Circuit Date
1 Australian Grand Prix Australia Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne 26 March
2 Chinese Grand Prix China Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai 9 April
3 Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir 16 April
4 Russian Grand Prix Russia Sochi Autodrom, Sochi 30 April
5 Spanish Grand Prix Spain Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona 14 May
6 Monaco Grand Prix Monaco  Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo 28 May
7 Canadian Grand Prix Canada Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal 11 June
8 Azerbaijan Grand Prix Azerbaijan Baku City Circuit, Baku 25 June
9 Austrian Grand Prix Austria Red Bull Ring, Spielberg 9 July
10 British Grand Prix United Kingdom Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone 16 July
11 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungary Hungaroring, Budapest 30 July
12 Belgian Grand Prix Belgium Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot 27 August
13 Italian Grand Prix Italy Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza 3 September
14 Singapore Grand Prix Singapore Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore 17 September
15 Malaysian Grand Prix Malaysia Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur 1 October
16 Japanese Grand Prix Japan Suzuka International Racing Course, Suzuka 8 October
17 United States Grand Prix United States Circuit of the Americas, Austin, Texas 22 October
18 Mexican Grand Prix Mexico Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City 29 October
19 Brazilian Grand Prix Brazil Autódromo José Carlos Pace, São Paulo 12 November
20 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix United Arab Emirates Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi 26 November

This year, the German Grand Prix has been removed from the season calendar as the owners were unable to agree to commercial terms with the F1 management. That’s actually a shame because that GP was so largely viewed and celebrated in the season 😦 And the third biggest change of the season is the CAR.


This year’s multi-million cars have been designed to be faster, streamlined and lighter in order to be 4 to 5 seconds quicker in laps. They’re also pretty damn good-looking too. Qualifying for the new season begins on the 25th march and the Australian race starts on the 26th March, so make sure to watch it!! I sure will.

#teamhamilton2k17 #2kalways

Safa X

P.S. If you want to know about the physical changes to the cars and all the technical aerodynamics info, click here: http://www.skysports.com/f1/news/12433/10529238/f1-in-2017-what-can-we-expect-from-next-years-rule-changes


2 thoughts on “8 days until the next Formula 1 season!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s